Kabul [Afghanistan], February 19 (ANI): Star spinner Rashid Khan is likely to miss most of the games in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) as he was named in Afghanistan’s squad for the two-match Test series against Zimbabwe.
The 22-year-old spinner is gearing for PSL and will play for Lahore Qalandars in their first match on Sunday. Meanwhile, the Test series between Afghanistan and Zimbabwe will begin on March 2 in Abu Dhabi.
Asghar Afghan will lead the Afghanistan side. The squad also features many new faces with Munir Ahmad Kakar, Shahidullah Kamal, Bahir Shah Mohboob, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Abdul Malik, Saleem Safi, and Zia Ur Rahman Akbar who will play their first Test if included in playing XI.
“Here is Afghanistan squad for the upcoming Two-Test series against @ZimCricketv in UAE. The much-awaited series is set to commence this March in Abu-Dhabi,” Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) tweeted.

Afghanistan squad: Asghar Afghan (c), Ibrahim Zadran, Rahmat Shah, Javed Ahmadi, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Afsar Zazai, Nasir Jamal, Abdul Malik, Munir Ahmad Kakar, Shahidullah Kamal, Bahir Shah Mohboob, Rashid Khan, Amir Hamza, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Sayed Ahmad Shirzad, Saleem Safi, Wafadar Momand, Zia Ur Rahman Akbar, Yamin Ahmadzai
Earlier this week, Brendan Taylor and Craig Ervine missed out as Zimbabwe named a 15-member squad for the two-match Test series.
Tarisai Musakanda has returned to the Test arena having played his first game in the longest format against Sri Lanka back in 2017.
The first Test will begin on March 2 while the second game is slated to be played from March 10. The focus will then shift to the shortest format of the game as the two sides lock horns in the five-match T20I series from March 17.
Zimbabwe Test Squad: Sean Williams (capt), Ryan Burl, Sikandar Raza, Regis Chakabva, Kevin Kasuza, Wessly Madhevere, Wellington Masakadza, Prince Masvaure, Brandon Mavuta, Tarisai Musakanda, Richmond Mutumbami, Blessing Muzarabani, Richard Ngarava, Victor Nyauchi, Donald Tiripano. (ANI)