The legacy of the Sheffield shield: Nurturing Australia’s stars


Share post:

Karunesh Kumar Rai

Currently Western Australia is defending champions of Sheffield shield. New South Wales is the most successful team in Sheffield Shield with 47 titles. Many current Australian players such as Matthew Wade, Chris Green, Jack Edwards, Tanveer Sangha, Scott Boland, Todd Murphy have participated in the 2023/24 edition of the Sheffield shield. Western Australia and Tasmania are the two finalists of this season. Tasmania’s Beau Webster is the leading run scorer in this tournament so far with 914 runs in 10 matches, New South Wales Chris Tremain is the leading wicket taker in the tournament so far with 50 wickets in 10 matches.

This is a platform for all Australian young talents to showcase their
performance and get a chance in the national side. Both the teams have
won 5-5 matches out of their 10 matches. The final match between these
two teams will take place on 21th march at the WACA. Sheffield Shield
final is a very important match as Australian selectors have a close
look at the match and players in the final. Cameron Bancraft of
western Australia is the 2nd leading run scorer in the tournament with
778 runs and leading run scorer in his team, Corey Rocchiccioli is 4th
on the leading wickets with 39 wickets and leading wicket taker for
western Australia. Beau Webster is on top of both leading run scorer
and leading scorer for Tasmania and Gabe Bell is also 4th on the
leading wicket takers list with 39 wickets and highest wicket taker
for Tasmania.

The Sheffield Shield (also known as the Marsh Sheffield Shield for
sponsorship reasons) is the domestic first-class cricket competition
of Australia. 12,971 runs is scored by Darren Lehmann of South
Australia most by any player in the history of tournament. Clarrie
Grimmett of (Victoria and South Australia) is the leading wicket taker
of this tournament. Here is the full squad of both the finalists.

Western Australia squad

Ashton Agar, Cameron Bancroft, Jason Behrendorff, Hilton Cartwright,
Sam Fanning, Cameron Gannon, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Inglis,
Bryce Jackson, Matthew Kelly, Mitch Marsh, Shaun Marsh, David Moody,
Lance Morris, Joel Paris, Josh Philippe, Jhye Richardson, Corey
Rocchiccioli, D’Arcy Short, Charlie Stobo, Marcus Stoinis, Ashton
Turner, Sam Whiteman, Teague Wyllie.

Tasmania squad

Tom Andrews, Gabe Bell, Jackson Bird, Iain Carlisle, Jake Doran,
Nathan Ellis, Brad Hope, Caleb Jewell, Ben McDermott, Riley Meredith,
Lawrence Neil-Smith, Sam Rainbird, Peter Siddle, Jordan Silk, Billy
Stanlake, Matthew Wade, Charlie Wakim, Tim Ward, Beau Webster, Mac


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Related articles

Indian Squad announced: Favoritism over Class and Quality!!

Anubhav Katheria India’s T20 squad for the Sri Lanka tour has been announced, this will be the first assignment...

हार्दिक पांड्या का विकल्प कौन : शिवम दूबे, नीतीश रेड्डी या वेंकटेश अय्यर

वैभव मुद्गल अगर हार्दिक पांड्या 2025 की चैंपियंस ट्रॉफी में नहीं खेलते हैं तो टीम इंडिया को एक अन्य...

Junior Andrew Flintoff becomes youngest U-19 player to score hundred for England

Daksh Arora   Rocky Flintoff the son of the former England captain and renowned England all-rounder Andrew Flintoff became the...

Is Ravindra Jadeja’s future in ODIs with team India over?

Anubhav Katheria Gautam Gambhir’s first assignment as India head coach is a 3 T20 and 3 ODI match series...